# AAHSL Scholarly Communication Committee 2012 Year Report

The AAHSL Scholarly Communication Committee was appointed in February 2003 to develop, recommend, and guide the implementation of a plan and activities in support of the Association's stand on the range of issues relating to scholarly communication.

The Committee undertook the following activities:

## SPARC and the Open Access Working Group (OAWG)

The OAWG is a coalition of open access advocates coordinated by SPARC that includes major library associations, PLoS, Public Knowledge, and the SPARC lobbyist. AAHSL contributes financial support to both organizations and has a representative seat on the OAWG (the SCC Chair). The Schol Comm Chair and Chair-Elect participated in OAWG monthly by conference calls and relevant information was sent to the AAHSL Board and/or membership as appropriate. Some information is considered confidential so cannot be distributed beyond the AAHSL Board. Much of the work centers on advocacy for open access and public access to federally funded research. Advocacy has included the NIH Public Access Policy including letters and testimonies, support for FRPAA, the America COMPETES Act, and Open Access initiatives such as COPE, (Compact for Open Access Publishing Equity) and COAPI (Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions).

The Board determined that AAHSL will continue membership in both SPARC and OAWG in order to receive timely information from these groups and to participate in advocacy issues.

## Advocacy

- Following recommendations from Schol Comm, the Board signed both the Berlin Declaration and the Washington Declaration.
- Schol Comm members worked with the MLA Legislative Task Force to compile a response
  to the White House Office of Science Technology Policy Request for Information on Public
  Access to Peer-Reviewed Scholarly Publications Resulting from Federally Funded Research.
- AAHSL and MLA wrote a joint letter to Representatives Issa and Cummings expressing
  their opposition to the Research Works Act (RWA). AAHSL also signed a joint letter
  sponsored by OAWG member organizations opposing the RWA. Due to widespread
  opposition, the RWA was withdrawn.
- With ten national and regional library organizations, AAHSL thanked various congressmen
  and senators for introducing Senate and House versions of "The Federal Research Public
  Access Act" (FRPAA). Although this Bill did not pass, it is likely to be addressed again in
  Congress.
- With ten national and regional library organizations, AAHSL signed a letter thanking Representative Broun for conducting a hearing on the issue of Public Access and Scholarly Communication and supporting the testimony of Stuart Shieber, Director of the Office of Scholarly Communications at Harvard University.
- Schol Comm distributed information to AAHSL members about a "We the People" White House petition related to public access to federally funded research, encouraging members to sign the petition. The goal was to gather 25,000 signatures in order for the White House to address public access. At this time, the petition did not result in White House attention during this election year.

## **Scholarly Communication Survey**

At the request of the Board, Schol Comm conducted a survey of AAHSL library directors regarding their opinions about scholarly communication issues in order for the Board to have a snapshot of member views related to scholarly communication. The survey consisted of 17 questions and a number of options for open comments. Seventy completed responses were received. Results of the survey indicate that there is strong support among the respondents for advocating for expansion of the NIH Public Access Policy to other federal agencies. The survey was summarized and results were posted to the AAHSL survey site.

#### Other Activities

The committee recommended and the Board accepted a revision to the Scholarly Communications Committee charge regarding advocacy. #2 on the charge now reads: "Advocacy to advance sustainable, effective and economically viable models of scholarly communication that are beneficial to our user community."

Members continued to summarize Peter Suber's lengthy Open Access newsletter and distribute to the AAHSL-all listserv. The Chair asked the membership about the value of the OA Newsletter updates and received confirmation that they should be continued. This responsibility was shared by a number of SCC members who volunteered to summarize the newsletter.

Schol Comm continued to communicate with both the Chicago Collaborative and the newly formed MLA Committee on Scholarly Communications. Each group was given time to report on activities at both AASHL and MLA meetings.

As the new MLA Scholarly Communications Committee was being developed, both the AAHSL Schol Comm and MLA's Schol Comm discussed whether it would be appropriate to combine the two committees into a joint MLA/AAHSL task force on scholarly communication, similar to the Joint Legislative Task Force. Since AAHSL's committee focuses on both advocacy and education and MLA's committee focus is on education and a broader community, it was decided that it would be most productive to keep the two committees separate, at least for the time being. To facilitate communication and joint actions, a liaison from Schol Comm was appointed to the MLA Schol Com.

Through the Schol Comm liaison to the MLA's Scholarly Communication Committee, Schol Comm will assist with an open forum on scholarly communication at MLA 2013 in Boston.

The committee continues to monitor university campus-wide OA mandates and the Google Books settlement and Hathitrust issue. It is also monitoring the limitations of publishers to consider publications resulting from institutional repository content such as theses and dissertations or preprints.

#### **Committee Meetings**

The committee met on November 6, 2011, at the 2011 AAHSL meeting in Denver and on May 22 at the MLA meeting in Seattle. During the MLA meeting, the committee discussed future activities based on results of the Scholarly Communication survey. These activities include but are not limited to advocacy for public access and open access, continued working relationship with the Chicago Collaborative and MLA's Scholarly Communication Committee and the MLA/AAHSL Joint Legislative Task Force, education on topics such as pay-per-view, preservation, new models of publishing, e-book publishing, and development of a summit or other interactive session with publisher representatives.

The SCC co-chairs assisted the CC Conveners with providing an activities briefing to the AAHSL membership on November 7, 2011, and is planning to do the same at the 2012 AAHSL meeting in

San Francisco on Sunday, November 4, 1:00-2:30. The SCC will also meet on Sunday, November 4, 7:00-8:00 a.m..

Rajia Tobia (chair) (2009-2012)

Chris Frank (chair-elect) (2010-2013)

Barbara Shearer (2010-2013)

Tom Singarella (2010-2013)

Carlene Drake (2009-2012)

Leslie Schick (2009-2012)

Mary Ryan (2011-2014)

Jim Shedlock (2011-2014)

Stephanie Fulton (2011-2014)

Anne Linton (2011-2014)

Andrea Twiss Brooks (2011-2014)

Karen Butter, Board Liaison (2010-)